Share |

Award Details and Submission Forms

Health Officer of the Year Award Nomination, click here. 

Outstanding Board of Health Award Nomination, click here.

For the Community Health Education Memorial Scholarship, please click here


Congratulations to the 2019 Award Winners!

Health Officer of the Year




Darren J. Rausch, MS, CPH
Greenfield Health Department




Outstanding Board of Health of the Year

Florence County Board of Health

Board members include:

 Back row, left to right is Chad Hedmark, Susan Theer, Carolyn Lemanski and Sherry Johnson. Front row, left to right is Holly Wahlstrom-Stratton, Yvonne Van Pembrook and Cindy Kmecheck. 

The Florence County Board of Health has a long history of supporting public health through strong leadership in policy and community interventions. The board has been on the forefront on many policy issues to support public health needs ensuring the mission of the department to Connect People to a Better Life! The vision of Healthy People, Vibrant Communities has been proven by their leadership in resolutions supporting health officer shared responsibility for tobacco compliancy citations, integrating e-cigarettes usage into tobacco ordinances for public and county buildings, supporting communicable disease funding in the state budget and most recently requiring all tobacco or nicotine products to be kept behind the counter to protect the health of youth. The board supported the department to become one of the 14 accredited health departments in Wisconsin in 2018. During the site visit, the department was noted for the extraordinary partnerships with partners and policymakers. The health board supported the department becoming an agent of the state through DATCP in 2017 and beginning a reproductive health program in 2018. The health board is always striving to meet the unique needs of our rural population and is willing to “think beyond the box” to accomplish this goal. Finally, the board epitomizes the department values of commitment, collaboration and compassion. As health officer working with the board for the past 10 years, I am pleased to nominate them for recognition on their commitment to public health and our community.

Community Health Education Memorial Scholarship


Congratulations to Past WALHDAB Award Winners:


Local Health Officer of the Year
Board of Health of the Year

 2019Darren Rausch
City of Greenfield Health Officer
Florence County Board of Health


Joan Theurer
Marathon County Health Officer
Calumet County Board of Health

Kathy Munsey, RN
Green Lake County Health Department

Sauk County Board of Health

Barb Theis, RN
Juneau County Health Department

Outagamie County Health and Human Services Board

Sue Kunferman, RN, MSN, CPM
Wood County Health Department

Rock County Board of Health

Douglas Nelson, Chair
City of Appleton Board of Health
Read Bio


Sally Nusslock, Health Commissioner
West Allis Health Department 
Read Bio

Donna Rozar, Committee Chair
Wood County Health and
Human Services
Read Bio 

Kurt Eggebrecht 
City of Appleton Health Department
Read Bio

Dennis Wedde 
Waushara County Board of Health 
Read Bio

Janet Lewellyn, 
Health Officer
Shawano County
Read Bio


Jackie Ove, RN, 
Health Officer
City of South Milwaukee Health Department 

Read Bio


Diane Cappozzo, Health Officer
Fond du Lac County Health Department
Read Bio

Lowell Haugen
Sauk County Board of Health 
Read Bio


Julie Willems van Dyjk
Read Bio

Tara Johnson
Read Bio

June Roehl 
Read Bio



Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal